ID Sales Tax Permits States

How to Register for a Sales Tax Permit in Idaho

by Jennifer Dunn

Register Sales Tax License Idaho

Last updated July 14, 2017

This blog post will walk you through registering for your sales tax license in the state of Idaho. Check out our resource guide for businesses for more information about Idaho sales tax.

1. Who needs a sales tax permit in Idaho?

According to the Idaho State Tax Commission: “Idaho law requires retailers who are doing business in Idaho to get a seller’s permit and collect sales tax on the sale of goods they ship or deliver to customers in Idaho.

You’re considered to be doing business in Idaho if you have a physical presence in the state (whether permanent or temporary). This includes:

  • Having an office, warehouse, sales or sample room, or storage place
  • Maintaining a stock of goods
  • Renting or leasing property (other than real property) to a customer who uses the property in Idaho
  • Servicing tangible personal property in Idaho
  • Having a salesman, agent, or representative who comes to Idaho to sell, deliver, install, or take orders. (It doesn’t matter whether the salesman, agent, or representative is your employee, or whether he lives in Idaho or another state.)

Presence can also be established by the relationship of one business to another that is doing business in Idaho. If a parent, subsidiary or other commonly-owned company is in business in Idaho, then all other members of the same group that are in a similar line of business are subject to Idaho’s sales tax laws.”

2. How do you register for a sales tax permit in Idaho?

Register online with the Idaho Business Registration (IBR) application.

You can also print out this paper IBR-1 form and mail it to:

Idaho Business Registration

PO Box 36

Boise, ID 83722-0410

3. What information do you need to register for a sales tax permit in Idaho?

  • Personal identification information (Name, SSN, etc.)
  • Business identification information (Business Name, Owners, Address, Date of Incorporation, EIN, etc.)
  • Business entity type
  • Purpose for applying
  • Date you’ll begin collecting sales tax in Idaho

4. How much does it cost to apply for a sales tax permit in Idaho?

Registering for a sales and use tax license in Idaho is free, but you may be required to pay other business registration fees. For example, Idaho instructs businesses applying for a sales tax license to also apply with the Idaho Secretary of State.

5. How long does it take to receive your Idaho sales tax permit?

While, unlike many states, Idaho doesn’t specify a time frame for receiving your business license, most states will send a paper business license within 10 business days to 4 weeks, and many give you an electronic business license immediately or within 10 days after application online.

6. Do you have to renew your Idaho sales tax permit?

Idaho does not require sellers to renew their sales tax permits.

7. How can I learn more about Idaho sales tax?

Would you prefer a tax professional handle your sales tax registration?

Fill out our State Registrations form and we’ll put you in touch with a vetted sales tax pro.

Start your 30 day free trial of TaxJar.
No credit card required.